Goodnight, Sweet Prince.

robinwilliams

I was at work last night when one of the ladies I work with told me Robin Williams had died of an apparent suicide. I was stunned. I still am. I knew he had his issues with drugs, alcohol and depression and was surprised he would take his own life. But, those who have had to deal with suicide of a friend or family member all know, sometimes there is no sign. Or if the signs are there, you don’t recognize them until after their loved ones are gone.

I remember watching Robin Williams on “Mork & Mindy” and also on “A Night at the Improv”. He was a brilliant comedian and actor and I felt he deserved to win an Oscar much sooner than he did for “Good Will Hunting”. He was also a kind and giving man. He did a lot of charity work, like “Comic Relief” in the 80’s with Whoopi Goldberg and Billy Crystal, two more of my favorite comedians. He also entertained our troops overseas, and helped raise money for St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital.

One of his albums, “A Night at the Met” was and will always be my favorite. I had memorized it and that album and Bill Cosby’s “Himself” were running through my mind during each contraction during the birth of my son, Alex. It got me through the pain. It helped me feel better and like other times in my life, it felt good to just laugh.

My prayers to his family, friends and fans. He will be missed. Goodnight, Sweet Prince. Parting is such sweet sorrow. RIP Robin Williams.

Robin Williams on Golf: http://youtu.be/pcnFbCCgTo4

 

Leave a Reply

